In Lieu of: 62A350 (12-11)

Commonwealth of Kentucky

PIDN:			

# Kentucky NAME OF THE PROPERTY OF THE PROPERTY

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

# Application for Exemption Under the Homestead / Disability Amendment

HEX \_\_\_\_\_ DEX \_\_\_\_

Please print or type all requested information

Return form via mail/fax/email 303 Court St. Rm. 210 Covington, KY 41011 859-392-1770 (fax) info.kentonpva@kentoncounty.org

County				Date Submitted/				
	Application is hereby made for the	ne homestead exen	nption provi	ded by Section 170	of the Kenti	ucky Constitu	tion.	
1.	Name(s) of owner-applicant(s) in whose n	ame(s) title is vested	l:					
2.	Name of applicant(s)	Date of birth A	Age Sex	Relationship to	nts			
_				Husband	Wife	Other		
_				_ Husband	Wife	Other		
3.	Address of personal residence:						_	
	City			State 2	Zip Code		_	
	Mailing address (if different from above) _ Phone Number	Date of O	wnership				_	
4.	Have you ever applied for, or are you rec	eiving, the homestea	nd exemption	in different location	, county or sta	ate?		
	yesno If "yes", where?							
5.	Type of residential unit: single fami	ly residence d	uplex	apartment building	mobile h	nome coi	ndominium	
	other (description)							
sses r the	Amount of exemption: If ownership is fee simplesed value of his interest in the property, which a percentage that the applicant's ownership bearship = 10%; exemption limit = \$5,000.)	ever is less. If owners	hip is by stock	ownership or member	ership, the amo	unt of exemption	is full exemption	
		AFFIDAV	VIT AND OA	TH				
		, her	eby swear (a	ffirm) under penalty	of perjury tha	nt I (we) am (ar	e) the owner(s	
om	e property for which this assessment exempt monwealth or another state. I further swear 65 years of age or over, or totally disabled	(affirm) that I (we) m	naintain this r	esidential unit as m	y (our) primar	y residence; th		
onti dmi	alifying under the disability provision under nuing and that if my disability status change nistrator 's office as required by KRS 132.8 aption received for up to a period of five year	es and benefits are n 10(4)(b). Failure to d	o longer rece	eived I shall report s	such changes	to the property	valuation	
	Signature of Applicant	Date		Signature of Spo	ouse	Date	_	
 Proj	perty Valuation Administrator / Deputy	// Date	App	lication is: ap	proved	_ denied		
ννα	DAT SF				Exoner	ation		
٠.,	-··· <b>-··</b>				_,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,			

RESERVED FOR OFFICIAL USE (See Reverse side for explanation)

# **Explanation**

1. This application-affidavit must be submitted by December 31st of the year in which exemption is sought for residential property located in Kenton County to the Kenton County Property Valuation Administrator (PVA). In addition, the applicant must own, occupy and maintain the subject property as a taxable interest as of January 1 during the tax year for which the exemption is sought (in accordance with KRS 132.220(1)).

Under KRS 132.810 those applying under the disability provision are required to document their disability only at the time of initial application. Once approved, annual reapplication is not required. However, applicants are required to report any change in their disability classification to Kenton County PVA. Failure to do so could result in back taxes, penalties and interest for any years an applicant did not legally qualify for the exemption.

## 2. What does Homestead Exemption mean?

The Homestead Exemption results in a reduction in the net taxable value of the owner's personal residence. The amount of the exemption is determined by the Legislature every two years. Under the provisions of the Homestead statute, a person or persons must be 65 years of age or older or totally disabled during the year for which application is made, and must own, occupy and maintain a residential unit for such exemption.

#### 3. Age Requirement

A person or persons owning, living in and maintaining a residential unit must meet the 65 years of age requirement. If only one spouse is 65, the age requirement is met.

## 4. Verification of Age & Kenton County Residence

A person must own and occupy the property for which exemption is sought as his or her primary residence. A primary residence is a person's fixed permanent or principal home for legal, voting & tax purposes. Date of birth of the applicant(s) and proof of Kenton County residence can be verified by submitting a copy of one of the following forms of identification. The address shown on the identification must match the address of residence for which application is made.

- A. Valid Kenton County driver's license issued by Kenton County Circuit Court Clerk's Office.
- B. Valid personal ID card issued by Kenton County Circuit Court Clerk's Office.

# 5. Disability Requirements

A person must be classified as totally disabled under a program authorized or administered by an agency of the United States government or by any retirement system either within or without the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Applicants must document their disability with a copy of their award letter from their retirement system/social security that declares the date they became eligible for disability benefits along with:

- A. Documentation of their date of birth.
- B. Proof of ownership of their primary residence for which application is made.
- C. Applicants must have maintained their disability classification and received disability payments under such classification for the entire year. (Earning statement or 1099 form.)

# 6. Review of Applicants

The Kenton County Property Valuation Administrator may, at any time, conduct a review of applications and may require an applicant to reapply or submit proof of continuing disability and benefits received.

7. KRS 132.810(2)(h) provides that, "When title to property which is exempted, either in whole or in part, under the Homestead Exemption is transferred, the owner, administrator, executor, trustee, guardian, conservator, curator or agent shall report such transfer to the Property Valuation Administrator."

# 8. Fraudulent Misrepresentations

Under the provisions of KRS 132.990(1), "Any person who willfully fails to supply the Property Valuation Administrator or the Department of Revenue with a complete list of his property and such facts with regard thereto as may be required or who violates any of the provisions of KRS 132.570 shall be fined not more than five hundred dollars (\$500)."